Home» News» News» Global»

PKU European University Centre holds annual council and board meeting

News Center @ OIR.PKU APR . 08 2011

Peking University, Apr. 8, 2011: European University Centre at Peking University (EUC), an institution for cooperation in research and education between member universities in Europe and Peking University (PKU), held its annual Council and Board Meeting on March 21 in the Tan Siu Lin Center for International Studies at PKU.


Before the meeting started, Professor Zhou Qifeng, President of PKU welcomed the representatives from the member European universities with a warm speech, in which he expressed his belief that the cooperation between the members of EUC has created a win-win relationship. Professor Zhou also expressed his hope that every student in PKU would have the opportunity to study abroad to pursue of his or her academic and personal goals. 


Following Professor Zhou's welcome speech, the representatives from the member universities started the meeting and engaged in a fruitful and constructive discussion on how to further develop EUC's activities in the areas of education and research, especially in the fields of environmental issues, public health and social welfare and politics and law. Other important features at the meeting were the re-election of Professor Goeran Bexell as Chairman of the Board and the acceptance of Uppsala University to become a new member University of EUC.


The day before the Council and Board Meeting, EUC organized a symposium on the topic of "Social Welfare Developments in China and Europe – and the meaning of 'inclusive growth' as policy strategies in Europe and China" with speakers from PKU and the European member universities of EUC.



Background Info:
European University Centre at Peking University
Peking University and the European member universities have established a European University Centre for cooperation in research and education.

Member universities are: Peking University, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Autonomous University of Madrid, Lund University, Sorbonne Universities, University College Dublin, University College London, University of Milan, University of Strasbourg, University of Vienna, University of Warsaw, and Uppsala University.



Edited by: LI Xiaomeng
Source: Office of International Relations