Home» News» News» Focus»

PKU Professor wins the TWAS Celso Furtado Social Science Award

DEC . 09 2015
Peking University, Dec 6 , 2015:On November 18th , 2015, the 26th general meeting of the Third World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) was held in Vienna, Austria. At the opening ceremony, 14 TWAS winners were announced from 9 fields, including agricultural sciences, biology, chemistry, earth sciences, engineering sciences, mathematics, medicine, physics and social sciences.

Professor Zheng

Zheng Xiaoying, president of the PKU-APEC Health Science Academy and director of the PKU Institute of Population Research (PKUIPR), and Turkish scientist Ayse Bugra jointly won the 2015 TWAS Celso Furtado Award for social sciences. Professor Zheng was awarded for her outstanding achievements in regard to carrying out multidisciplinary researches of health, disability, environment and other subjects in  China’s poor areas.

The TWAS Celso Furtado Social Science Award was set by Brazilian government, intended to reward scientists making excellent breakthroughs in social sciences and economic science development. Up to now, five scientists have won this award in the world, and this is the first time for Chinese senior scholars to win the prize.

TWAS was founded in 1983 under the leadership of the Nobel Laureate Abdus Salam of Pakistan by a group of distinguished scientists who were determined to do something about the dismal state of scientific research in developing countries.It is a merit-based science academy uniting 1,000 scientists in some 70 countries. Its headquarters are located on the premises of the Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP) in Trieste, Italy.

Written by: Shang Baoyue
Edited by: Ouyang Yixuan
Source: PKU News Center
( http://pkunews.pku.edu.cn/xywh/2015-12/04/content_291884.htm)