Home» News» News» Campus»

Peking University Holds Annual “Top Ten Campus MC’s” Contest

DEC . 20 2017
Peking University, Dec. 6, 2017: On the evening of Dec. 3, 2017, The Top Ten Campus MC’s Contest was held in Hongya Hall, Shaoyuan. The professional judging panel included Sun Geyi, tenor from the Opera of the PRC Central Military Commission’s Political Work Department; Gao Fang, compere at China Central Television (CCTV) and the Political Work Department Repertory Theatre; Yang Haibo, compere and voice actor at CCTV; He Shu, vice professor at the School of Journalism and Communication; Liu Chen, chair of the Fine Arts Department;, and Chen Zhengwei, director of Office of Student Financial Aid. There was also a public judging panel constituted of 20 random student volunteers.

Professional and Public Judging Panels

Chen Yongli, secretary of the PKU Youth League Committee, delivered a speech at the opening of the competition, hoping that the contest would adhere to the tradition of cultivating talented hosts and encouraging more students to stand on the stage.

After previous rounds of selections, 12 contestants entered the final. In the first round, which included prepared hosting, improvised hosting, and a talent show, 6 contestants had to leave the stage. Round two took the form of group competitions: the remaining 6 contestants were divided into three pairs by lot, and jointly hosted a show. During the final, contestants from different departments showed their ability and talents.

A Contestant in Prepared and Improvised Hosting

A Contestant on the Talent Show

Contestants Hosting a Show in Pairs

The professional jury commented on contenders’ performances and gave specific suggestions on how to improving pronunciation and topic selection, which benefited both the contestants and the audience.

Yang Haibo Commenting on the Performance of Contestants
Sun Geyi Commenting on the Competition

At Length, according to the juries, the top ten hosts, the most popular pair, the champion, the second runner-up and the third runner-up were selected.

Group Photo of Contestant and Juries

Written by: Wang Nini
Edited by: Fu Wenyun, Karen Xu