Home       Sitemap      About Us      简体中文
Home» News» News» Focus» Yan Chunhua elected fellow of TWAS

Yan Chunhua elected fellow of TWAS

Peking University, Sept. 24, 2012: Recently, Yan Chunhua, professor of College of Chemistry and Molecular Engineering at Peking University (PKU) and academician of Chinese Academy of Sciences, was elected as a member of the Academy of Sciences for the Developing World (TWAS) at the academy’s 23rd General Meeting in Tianjin.


In the new members’ announcement, the academy states Yan’s main academic contributions as a leading scientist in rare earth science and technology in China.


This year, TWAS elected 49 new members (45 fellows and 4 associate fellows). Jiang Lei from Institute of Chemistry, Chinese Academy of Sciences and Jiang Guibin, State Key Laboratory for Environmental Chemistry and Ecotoxicology, Chinese Academy of Sciences, who are adjunct professors of College of Chemistry and Molecular Engineering of PKU, are on the list.


TWAS, the academy of sciences for the developing world (known as Third World Academy of Sciences), is an autonomous international organization, founded in 1983 in Trieste, Italy, by a distinguished group of scientists from the South under the leadership of the late Nobel laureate Abdus Salam of Pakistan. It was officially launched by the secretary-general of the United Nations in 1985. TWAS represents the best of science in developing countries. Its main mission is to promote scientific excellence and capacity in the South for science-based sustainable development.


A TWAS Member is scientific excellence. Only those scientists who have attained the highest international standards and have made significant contributions to the advancement of science can be nominated as Fellows or Associate Fellows. Eighty-six percent of TWAS Members are Fellows from developing countries and fourteen percent are Associate Fellows from developed countries. Members are elected for life. On average, up to 50 new Members are elected each year.


Related link: http://twas.ictp.it/mbrs/members-by-year/members-elected-2012


Written by: Zhang Jiang
Source: College of Chemistry and Molecular Engineering