Home       Sitemap      About Us      简体中文
Home» News» News» Focus» Award for Contribution to Nation's Scientific and Technological Progress

Award for Contribution to Nation's Scientific and Technological Progress

Peking University, Dec. 9, 2010: Peking University professors have won one of the nation’s top honors for their work in the field of science and technology, Xinhua reported Tuesday.


Prof. Wang Enge from PKU School of Physics and PKU alumnus Prof. Zhong Nanshan were listed “Top 10 National Excellent Scientific & Technological Workers,” according to a press release by the China Association for Science and Technology (CAST) on Dec. 6. The reviewing process includes a preliminary evaluation, a public vote, and a final decision by the Review Committee.


Prof. Wang Enge


Prof. Zhong Nanshan (left) and former President Xu Zhihong (File photo)


PKU Council Chairman Min Weifang and PKU President Zhou Qifeng sent congratulations to the winners, expressing their gratitude for the academic reputation the two scholars gained for the university.


The 10 awardees varied in their career fields, such as scientific research (including science, technology, and industry for national defense), business, agriculture, sanitary & medical services, and science popularization.


The winners are listed as follows:


Top 10 awardees (Xinhua)


  • Ma Weiming, member of Chinese Academy of Engineering (CAE), director of Institute of Power Electronics Technique, Naval University of Engineering;
  • Wang Enge, member of Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS), dean of Graduate School and School of Physics, PKU; 
  • Nyima Drolma, director and researcher of Institute of Industrial Crops, Tibet Academy of Agricultural and Animal Husbandry Science;
  • Yang Baofeng, CAE member, president of Harbin Medical University;
  • Zhang Xigang, chairman of the board of China Communication Construction (CCCC) Highway Consultants Co., Ltd.;
  • Zhang Xinyou, associate director and researcher of Henan Academy of Agricultural Sciences;
  • Zhang Shuguang, assistant chief engineer of China Ministry of Railways (MOR);
  • Chen Jin, director and researcher of Xishuangbanna Tropical Botanical Garden (XTBG), CAS;
  • Yi Xiaogang, chief engineer of SANY Heavy Industry Co., Ltd.;
  • Zhong Nanshan, CAE member, head of Guangzhou Institute of Respiratory Diseases.



Additionally, 40 were awarded “Nomination of the 10 National Excellent Scientific & Technological Workers,” and another 977 earning the title of “National Excellent Scientific & Technological Worker.”


Those who are once awarded are entitled the lifelong honor of “National Excellent Scientific & Technological Worker,” which some 700 gained in three previous selections separately in 1997, 2001, and 2004. However, there hadn’t ever been a top-10 review before the one just held. From now on, a successive selection is going to be conducted for less than 1,000 winners every other year, from whom the best 10 will be chosen.



Extended Reading:

Introductions to Prof. Wang Enge and Prof. Zhong Nanshan



Translated by: Jin Ludi

Edited by: Jacques

Source: PKU News (Chinese)