Home       Sitemap      About Us      简体中文
Home» News» News» Focus» Professor Jiang Zhengfan wins 2013 Tan Jiazhen Life Sciences Innovation Award

Professor Jiang Zhengfan wins 2013 Tan Jiazhen Life Sciences Innovation Award

Peking University, Oct. 9, 2013: Tan Jiazhen Life Sciences Award Committee announced that Professor Jiang Zhengfan from Peking University was awarded the 2013 Tan Jiazhen Life Sciences Innovation Award for his outstanding contribution to the field of innate immunity.

Professor Jiang is currently a Cheung Kong Scholar Professor at the School of Life Sciences, Peking University. He received his Ph. D. degree from Peking University, and carried out his postdoctoral work at Drs. George Stark &Xiaoxia Li's lab in Lerner Research Institute, the Cleveland Clinic Foundation during 1999 to 2003, and at Dr. Bruce Beutler's lab in The Scripps Research Institute, San Diego, from 2003 to 2006. Jiang’s work focuses on innate immunity and the related cell signaling. Professor Jiang has published several influential papers since 2002. His works, highly evaluated by world-class journals  such as Cell, Nature Immunology and Nature China, were on the list of“Faculty of 1000”-“TOP 10 in Immunology”.

This year is the 100th anniversary of the birth of Professor Tan Jiazhen (Tan Chia-Chen). Professor Tan was one of the founders of modern genetics and was an outstanding Chinese scientist and educationist. He trained a large number of genetic research talents, established China's first genetics courses and created China’s first Genetics Institute and formed China’s first School of Life Sciences. Tan Jiazhen Life Sciences Award is set up by the Ministry of Science and Technology of the People’s Republic of China in 2008 to carry on the spirit of Professor Tan's dedication to the development of life sciences in China, promote industrialization of China’s life sciences research and encourage the innovation of Chinese life sciences researchers. The award, issued annually, is organized by Shanghai Biopharmaceutics Industry Association. So far 70 outstanding scientists have been honored.





Written by: Jiang Zhaohui

Edited by: Zhu Wenjia

Source: PKU News (Chinese)